Reader Reviews

Back to top

If you've read a book recently that you'd like to recommend to other readers, send your review to nancy@ottobookstore.com. We reserve the right to edit for space, clarity, and content.

Liam, from Pittsburgh, has found a good book and a comfy seat. You can too. Come see us soon, and share a favorite book.

 

My Side of the Mountain Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780141312422
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - May 21st, 2001

My Side of the Mountain, by Jean Craighead George, is the best book I’ve ever read! It was fun to read because it was like the animals were talking. The book also had adventures, like when Sam climbed to the top of a gorge to meet Frightful, his pet peregrine falcon. Last, it taught me lessons, like how to make a wooden fish hook and a reed whistle. I think you should read My Side of the Mountain because it includes animals, adventure and learning.

Milo, 8 years old


Dear Sister Cover Image
By Alison McGhee, Joe Bluhm (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9781481451437
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - October 1st, 2019

I give the book Dear Little Sister, by Alison McGee, two thumbs up. First, it is very funny because my little sister is kind of like the sister in the book - annoying sometimes! It also has very good pictures, by Joe Bluhm. I liked how it looked like they were drawn with a pencil by the main character. Last, it has a very good ending because the brother realizes something important about his little sister. As you can see, Dear Little Sister is fun to read!

Milo, 8 years old


The Jolly Regina (The Unintentional Adventures of the Bland Sisters Book 1) Cover Image
By Kara LaReau, Jen Hill (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9781419726057
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harry N. Abrams - January 9th, 2018

Yes, I like this book. It was amazing! It was amazing because the Bland Sisters, Kale and Jaundice, go on an adventure that they did not know was going to happen. It was exciting because they got to go on the Jolly Regina and sail with pirates. My favorite pirates were Peg and Fatima. The book included a fight between the Jolly Regina and Captain Anna's ship. I recommend that you read the rest of the story to see how the Bland Sisters escaped from being killed on the Jolly Regina, whether they found their parents, and what happened to Peg and Fatima.

Review by Kerensa


P Is for Pterodactyl: The Worst Alphabet Book Ever Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781492674313
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sourcebooks Explore - November 13th, 2018

My daughter absolutely loved this book, so much so, that it remains on her pile of coveted books closest to her bed for nightly reading!  It has been one of my favorite alphabet books to read to her.  She is a curious young lady, and sometimes it is hard to explain to a new reader why there are silent letters in certain words, but not others.  This little story effectively helps her understand the complexities of the English language in a fun way.  

Review by mom, Hilary


Winter Turning (Wings of Fire, Book 7) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780545685399
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Inc. - December 27th, 2016

This book is very good. First, Winter got back to the Ice Kingdom. Then he got first in the rankings. Last he went into the Dimond Trial. My favorite part was the Dimond Trial because he talked to a 2,000 year old Dragon.

Atticus


The Phantom Tollbooth Cover Image
By Norton Juster, Jules Feiffer (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9780394820378
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Yearling - October 12th, 1988

I love this book! I think I act like Tock. I wonder if Milo ever gets bck to Wisdom or Ignorance. My favorite chracter is the Humbug. He makes me laugh. Review by Beret H

I like how all the characters in the book pitch in to help with the finding of the Princess  Rhyme and Reason. I think some of my favorite characters are Tock and the Humbug. The book was very fun, thrilling and exciting. Review by Lily H

NOTE FROM BOOKWOMAN If you like listening to books, check out David Hyde Pierce's audiobook of this title. AWESOME!

 


Bob Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250166623
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Feiwel & Friends - May 1st, 2018

Bob is a great book. It's a beautiful, bittersweet book about friendship. It is a funny story but it also conveys a great life lesson. If you like books by Sharon  Creech you'll like this book a lot! I hope you try it out!

-Naomi, age 10


Morgan and the Forty Thieves: A Magic Math Adventure Cover Image
By Elisabeth Alba (Illustrator), Addie Abacus
$8.99
ISBN: 9781732881310
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Phantom Hill Press - October 30th, 2018

This book was about Morgan, Rusty, and Grandpa Allen trying to protect the medallion from the forty thieves. The medallion is a necklace you put on when you want to change into an animal. The forty thieves are the people who try to capture the medallion. My favorite part of the book was when Rusty and Morgan rescue Grandpa Allen from the forty thieves. I didn't dislike any part of the book. I would recommend this book to my friends because they would like learning about the medallion and the powers you can have.

Review by Noah, age 9


Staff Pick Badge
A Drop of Hope Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781338233209
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - February 26th, 2019

The name of the book is A DROP OF HOPE by Keith Calabrese. The book is about how Rollo's birthday presents help people. A toy becomes friends with Tommy and Wiston. I liked the book because of the adventure that Ernest, Lizzy, and Ryan have. I would recommend this book to my friends because they will probably like what fun things the kids do in the book.

Review by Noah S


The Quest of the Cubs (Bears of the Ice #1) Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9780545683067
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - September 11th, 2018

This book is adventurous and emotional because the polar bear cubs (First and Second) have a hard mission and want to save their mom from the Timekeepers who want to harm all cubs from Bear Kingdom. I think some people would be sensitive to some character actions and language used. It is all good at the end when they find a relative to help them in their mission.

Review by Stella; age 8
 


Mr. Popper's Penguins Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780316058438
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - November 2nd, 1992

This is a very fantastic and funny book. Mr Popper is coming home from painting a house and it's almost winter. He gets a present from Admiral Drake! Soon it becomes very ill, or is it?! He gets 11 more penguins! This is a very interesting book. I think this book should be for 2nd graders and up.

Review by Sabra