Reader Reviews

Back to top

If you've read a book recently that you'd like to recommend to other readers, send your review to nancy@ottobookstore.com. We reserve the right to edit for space, clarity, and content.

Liam, from Pittsburgh, has found a good book and a comfy seat. You can too. Come see us soon, and share a favorite book.

 

What a Lucky Day! Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781324015529
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Norton Young Readers - October 13th, 2020

I liked this book because it was funny! My favorite was the last page with the stork, but I like the racoon too. The pictures are funny too, especially the animals' suspicious faces. My little brother thinks it is funny because all the animals are fishing like people.

Review by Brennan, age 6

 


The Blackbird Girls Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781984837370
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - January 19th, 2021

I have a hard time choosing what to like most about this book- the fact that hate can turn to love and respect if people would only be strong, or the fact that true friendship isn’t broken with distance, or the fact that this book showed just how beautiful it is when strength comes from unexpected places.I nearly shouted when Oksana’s mother hit her, and I nearly shouted for different reasons when Oksana was so brave and turned away from that. And when Valentina forgave the hate she used to receive from Oksana with so much grace and kindness, I nearly burst.
I love stories with with Jewish main characters - I’m not sure why. I’m not Jewish - but the religion is so beautiful to me, and so is religion in general.The example of these two girls, of different beliefs, completely defying the odds- blows me away.
 

Review by Juliet


Pax Cover Image
By Sara Pennypacker, Jon Klassen (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9780062377029
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Balzer + Bray - April 2nd, 2019

Pax and Peter were always inseparable, but Peter’s Dad makes him take Pax, Peter's fox, back to the wild. Peter and Pax set out on their own adventures to get back to each other. There are many curves in the road, so will they ever see each other again? PAX by Sara Pennypacker is an adventurous story of persistence and finding your true self. I recommend this to readers who love animal stories. Though the book can be sad in parts, it can be happy too. I would rate the book 5 stars not only because I loved it, but because it shows you things that maybe you never thought of. It can really open up your eyes in different ways. If you want a book about doing what truly feels right, about finding who you really are, about overcoming hard obstacles, about setting out on an adventure you’d think was wilder than wild, this book should be next on your list. 

Review by Stella R

 


From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler: Special Edition Cover Image
By E.L. Konigsburg, E.L. Konigsburg (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781534436459
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - March 19th, 2019

I have read this book many, many times and everysingle time, I feel the same excitement. I admire Claudia's wit and ambition - how she plots her runaway and she is very classy with the extravagant places she always plans to stay. And I'll always be in awe of how clever and plain old brilliant Jamie is. With how he plans and saves his money, for example. Both are brilliant kids and I adored reading about the classic schemes and adventures they went through together.

J Harris, a devoted reader.


The Couch Potato Cover Image
By Jory John, Pete Oswald (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062954534
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - November 3rd, 2020

"I liked Couch Potato because it teaches you that you cannot sit around inside all the time. It helps you see the fun outside."

Enjoy your day! 

Review by Alice, age 7


Magic Lessons: The Prequel to Practical Magic (The Practical Magic Series #3) Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781982108847
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster - October 6th, 2020

Magic Lessons by Alice Hoffman quickly made it to the very top of my favorites list. It was wonderful and I felt completely immersed in the world of Maria Owens from the start. I stayed entranced throughout the entire book because of how beautifully it was written. I loved learning how the Owens family started and all of the intricate twists and turns of Maria's life. This book was pure magic and completely captivating. I could not put it down.

Review by S. Terrano


My Side of the Mountain Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780141312422
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - May 21st, 2001

My Side of the Mountain, by Jean Craighead George, is the best book I’ve ever read! It was fun to read because it was like the animals were talking. The book also had adventures, like when Sam climbed to the top of a gorge to meet Frightful, his pet peregrine falcon. Last, it taught me lessons, like how to make a wooden fish hook and a reed whistle. I think you should read My Side of the Mountain because it includes animals, adventure and learning.

Milo, 8 years old


Dear Sister Cover Image
By Alison McGhee, Joe Bluhm (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9781481451437
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - October 1st, 2019

I give the book Dear Little Sister, by Alison McGee, two thumbs up. First, it is very funny because my little sister is kind of like the sister in the book - annoying sometimes! It also has very good pictures, by Joe Bluhm. I liked how it looked like they were drawn with a pencil by the main character. Last, it has a very good ending because the brother realizes something important about his little sister. As you can see, Dear Little Sister is fun to read!

Milo, 8 years old


The Jolly Regina (The Unintentional Adventures of the Bland Sisters Book 1) Cover Image
By Kara LaReau, Jen Hill (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9781419726057
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Amulet Paperbacks - January 9th, 2018

Yes, I like this book. It was amazing! It was amazing because the Bland Sisters, Kale and Jaundice, go on an adventure that they did not know was going to happen. It was exciting because they got to go on the Jolly Regina and sail with pirates. My favorite pirates were Peg and Fatima. The book included a fight between the Jolly Regina and Captain Anna's ship. I recommend that you read the rest of the story to see how the Bland Sisters escaped from being killed on the Jolly Regina, whether they found their parents, and what happened to Peg and Fatima.

Review by Kerensa


P Is for Pterodactyl: The Worst Alphabet Book Ever Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781492674313
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sourcebooks Explore - November 13th, 2018

My daughter absolutely loved this book, so much so, that it remains on her pile of coveted books closest to her bed for nightly reading!  It has been one of my favorite alphabet books to read to her.  She is a curious young lady, and sometimes it is hard to explain to a new reader why there are silent letters in certain words, but not others.  This little story effectively helps her understand the complexities of the English language in a fun way.  

Review by mom, Hilary


Winter Turning (Wings of Fire, Book 7) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780545685399
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Inc. - December 27th, 2016

This book is very good. First, Winter got back to the Ice Kingdom. Then he got first in the rankings. Last he went into the Dimond Trial. My favorite part was the Dimond Trial because he talked to a 2,000 year old Dragon.

Atticus


The Phantom Tollbooth Cover Image
By Norton Juster, Jules Feiffer (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9780394820378
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Yearling - October 12th, 1988

I love this book! I think I act like Tock. I wonder if Milo ever gets bck to Wisdom or Ignorance. My favorite chracter is the Humbug. He makes me laugh. Review by Beret H

I like how all the characters in the book pitch in to help with the finding of the Princess  Rhyme and Reason. I think some of my favorite characters are Tock and the Humbug. The book was very fun, thrilling and exciting. Review by Lily H

NOTE FROM BOOKWOMAN If you like listening to books, check out David Hyde Pierce's audiobook of this title. AWESOME!

 


Bob Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250166623
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Feiwel & Friends - May 1st, 2018

Bob is a great book. It's a beautiful, bittersweet book about friendship. It is a funny story but it also conveys a great life lesson. If you like books by Sharon  Creech you'll like this book a lot! I hope you try it out!

-Naomi, age 10


Morgan and the Forty Thieves: A Magic Math Adventure Cover Image
By Elisabeth Alba (Illustrator), Addie Abacus
$8.99
ISBN: 9781732881310
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Phantom Hill Press - October 30th, 2018

This book was about Morgan, Rusty, and Grandpa Allen trying to protect the medallion from the forty thieves. The medallion is a necklace you put on when you want to change into an animal. The forty thieves are the people who try to capture the medallion. My favorite part of the book was when Rusty and Morgan rescue Grandpa Allen from the forty thieves. I didn't dislike any part of the book. I would recommend this book to my friends because they would like learning about the medallion and the powers you can have.

Review by Noah, age 9


Staff Pick Badge
A Drop of Hope Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781338233209
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - February 26th, 2019

The name of the book is A DROP OF HOPE by Keith Calabrese. The book is about how Rollo's birthday presents help people. A toy becomes friends with Tommy and Wiston. I liked the book because of the adventure that Ernest, Lizzy, and Ryan have. I would recommend this book to my friends because they will probably like what fun things the kids do in the book.

Review by Noah S


The Quest of the Cubs (Bears of the Ice #1) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780545683067
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - September 11th, 2018

This book is adventurous and emotional because the polar bear cubs (First and Second) have a hard mission and want to save their mom from the Timekeepers who want to harm all cubs from Bear Kingdom. I think some people would be sensitive to some character actions and language used. It is all good at the end when they find a relative to help them in their mission.

Review by Stella; age 8
 


Mr. Popper's Penguins Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780316058438
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - November 2nd, 1992

This is a very fantastic and funny book. Mr Popper is coming home from painting a house and it's almost winter. He gets a present from Admiral Drake! Soon it becomes very ill, or is it?! He gets 11 more penguins! This is a very interesting book. I think this book should be for 2nd graders and up.

Review by Sabra